Being arrested on the charges of driving under the influence of alcohol for the first time is a harrowing, frightening experience. If you’ve never been arrested before, you may not know what to do, whether you should cooperate with the law enforcement and answer their questions or not or who you should call to help you in this situation.
The penalties for a first time DUI offense are less harsh than the penalties for subsequent offenses, but they should never be taken lightly. If you have a clean driving record prior to your DUI arrest, your record will be ruined if you are convicted.
First DUI offense penalties in Mississippi include:
– Incarceration for no longer than 48 hours (meaning you could spend two nights in jail)
– Fines between $250-$1000
– Court costs
– Mandatory enrollment in the Mississippi Alcohol Safety Education Program (MASEP)
– Driver’s license suspension
– Increase in insurance premiums
– Loss of car insurance
If you’ve never been arrested for or charged with a DUI, you certainly don’t want one on your record now. The attorneys at the Law Firm of Ross, Kelley & Martin, PLLC are well versed in first DUI offense laws and can assist you in building a strong defense that will preserve your record, your rights and your liberties. We will do everything within our power to ensure that you are found not guilty of driving under the influence, and if you are, we will work hard to petition the court for reduced sentencing. Contact us today for a consultation.